Some activities still prohibited in GCQ areas ‘with restrictions’

June 1, 2021

To control the surge in Covid-19 cases in the country, a number of activities remain prohibited in areas placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) “with restrictions” until June 15.

In a Palace press briefing, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said under GCQ with restrictions, entertainment venues such as bars, concert halls, and theater are still banned from reopening.

Roque, also spokesperson of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID), said recreational venues (net cafes, billiards, and arcades); amusement parks, fairs, playgrounds, kiddie rides, and cockfighting are also prohibited.

However, lotteries and horse racing with off-track betting stations will temporarily be allowed, he added.

Non-contact sports will be allowed but indoor sports courts and venues and indoor tourist attractions will be prohibited, Roque said.

Venues for meetings, conferences, and exhibitions will be allowed to operate on a 30 percent capacity or 10 percent if used for social events.

Personal care services (salons, parlors, beauty clinics) will be allowed to operate on 40 percent capacity for services not requiring mask removal.

Outdoor tourist attractions may operate on a 30 percent capacity with strict adherence to minimum public health standards (MPHS).

Specialized markets of the Department of Tourism (DOT) such as staycation in DOT-accredited accommodations will be allowed to operate as long as they also adhere to MPHS.

Indoor dining will be allowed to operate on a 30 percent capacity while outdoor dining (al fresco) will be allowed to operate on a 50 percent capacity.

LGU may hike religious events’ capacity

Religious activities, wakes, weddings, and baptism in GCQ areas will also be allowed to operate on a 30 percent capacity but it may increase up to 50 percent if allowed by the local government unit (LGU).

Interzonal travel from NCR (National Capital Region) Plus areas will be allowed but subject to destination LGU restrictions while interzonal travel within NCR Plus will also be allowed.

NCR Plus is composed of Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal.

On Monday, President Rodrigo Duterte placed NCR Plus areas under GCQ with restrictions until June 15.

Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Abra (CAR), Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino (Region 2), Batangas, Quezon (Region 4-A), Iligan City (Region 10), Davao City (Region 11), and Lanao del Sur and Cotabato City (BARMM) are also under GCQ.

Areas put under the second strictest quarantine status, modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) include Santiago City, Cagayan (Region 2), Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao (CAR), Puerto Princesa City (Region 4-B), Iloilo City (Region 6), Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, and Zamboanga del Norte (Region 9), Cagayan de Oro City (Region 10), and Butuan City, Agusan del Sur (Caraga).

The rest of the country will be under the least restrictive modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) for the whole month of June.

In MECQ areas, religious gatherings, wakes, weddings, baptism will be limited to 10 percent but LGU can increase up to 30 percent “necrological services, wakes, inurnment, funerals only to immediate family members.”

Meanwhile, Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea released a memorandum on Duterte’s approval of the extended travel restrictions on travelers from India and six other countries until June 15 to prevent the entry of the coronavirus variant first detected in India.

“Please be informed that the President has approved the recommendation of the [Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases] in its Resolution No. 117-B to extend the travel restrictions on all travelers from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, and the United Emirates until 2359 H of 15 June 2021,” the memo read. (PNA)