Duterte extends MECQ in NCR Plus until May 14

Apr 28 2021

President Rodrigo Duterte on Wednesday approved the extension of the second strictest quarantine level in Metro Manila and nearby Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal provinces, Malacañang said until the middle of May.

Duterte said the NCR Plus area will stay under MECQ until May 14.

The President also placed Santiago City, Quirino and Abra province under MECQ.

Duterte added that the following areas would be under general community quarantine.

  • Apayao
  • Baguio City
  • Benget
  • Ifugao
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Batangas
  • Quezon
  • Tacloban
  • Iligan
  • Davao City
  • Lanao del Sur

The rest of the country is under the loosest modified GCQ, said Duterte.

“This new community quarantine classification is subject to the appeals of the local government units,” Roque said.

The Philippines, which has the second-highest COVID-19 cases and deaths in Southeast Asia, reported 6,895 new coronavirus infections on Wednesday, pushing its total tally of cases to 1,020,495.

Active cases in the country hit 67,769, while deaths reached 17,031, according to the health department.